On being thankful for every moment

3 Apr

Image

This morning I met a beautiful friend for an early morning swim, at Fairy Bower in Manly.

The dawn sunlight pierced the crystal sea, as waves rocked across reef. Sparkles radiated around us, frightened fish flashed at our feet, and a paddleboarder glided across the horizon.

Salt sizzled on skin as we waded in the cool pool.

In that moment, I was deliriously happy. Grateful that I was alive to see and smell and sense such a special scene.

In 8 weeks, I’m moving to Asia! Vietnam stole my soul, peeled back theย layers, and I’m itching to return.

And so I’m making a point to bask in every magical moment while I pack up my life in Sydney.ย 

The spectacular shoreline. Crisp air. Fresh drinking water. Sunrise over the sea. Quiet streets. Dips at dawn. Gorgeous friends.

We should do it every moment: look for the lining. Appreciate being alive right here, right now. Wish for nothing other than who we are in this very moment.

Will you join me?

 

3 Responses to “On being thankful for every moment”

  1. directorb April 3, 2014 at 12:54 pm #

    Such great advice!

    • Kat Tate April 3, 2014 at 1:04 pm #

      Thanks for the warm fuzzy ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Chasing Butterflies: Sunshine and freedom April 7, 2014 at 7:19 pm #

    It’s so true; we need to appreciate everything right here, right now. It’s one thing I learned from my father, see the beauty in every challenge life throws at you, no matter how difficult the challenge way be. Life is only what you make of it and no matter what make the most of it. Great post and great advice!

Leave a Reply

